Also available:

on CD

on Spotify

on iTunes

on SoundCloud

on YouTube

and on other servers:

20 Streaming Services Logos

The Struggle includes various genres

My Music

HonkyTonk Hymns on the Triano, by Charles Van Deursen
The Struggle Album Cover

In August of 2018 Charles Van Deursen independently published "The Struggle" album of sixteen instrumental songs of various genres.

Charles Van Deursen independently created an album: "HonkyTonk Hymns." It will be released on all the streaming services on July 16.

HonkyTonk Hymns on the Triano, by Charles Van Deursen

For better or worse, I have always created music in a variety of genres (and maybe in one or morethat has not yet been identified). The music that I create is designed by my imagination to mimic or express my current emotional sensation. I do not employ a disciplined work ethic. I identify my (often indescribable) feeling then try to make my instrument display it in sound. I have numerous melodies that I have not published because I have not registered them.  Purchasing a copyright from the Library of Congress can be costly for a composer of many tunes. So I have tried to be wise in choosing which songs to produce.

At this point in my efforts at music producing (since about 2003) I have spent thousands of dollars with almost no reimbursement. Hopefully, once I can begin to make a profit I will be able to put out a lot more songs and more often. 

The Struggle Album cover, by Charles Van Deursen

The Struggle includes multiple genres:

(disco/rock, easy listening, classical, blues, Latin beat, solo piano, orchestral)
The Struggle - an album of instrumental songs listed here in alphabetical order
Abounding Glory - a melody on the piano depicting an old steam engine
BirDance - a dance beat with a rock lead guitar solo
Cool Mornings - a tone poem of a spring morning sunrise
Dusty Blue- a melancholy mood expressed on the piano
I'm Amazed - piano easy listening
Kali's Song - a guitar and flute
Let The Horses Run! -acoustic guitar strum/picking with some accompaniment
Light Blue Lite - a lively orchestral melody
Michele's Song - a piano solo
The Cinder Block - piano chordal piece
The Procession - a piece that adds instruments as it progresses
The Struggle - an up beat percussive piece with marimbas, piano, and various drums
The Turn Style - a tone poem of the "daily grind"
'Twas The Gown - guitar & flute, a tone poem - a twirling lass admiring her dress
Walking With You - piano solo, a vision of peace in heaven
Waves - piano solo. a tone poem of gentle waves washing up on the beach
Click here to view my various videos.

Breaking News!

Recently after eighteen months of not performing live, I began working to improve the prospect of entertaining audiences again with my Triano. To achieve this end I set four main goals: to assemble an appropriate repertoir of music, produce an album of the songs, build a trailer to haul it, and repair my truck to pull it.

Goal 1: Live audiences had always expressed enthusiasm for my renditions of the hymns. So I began choosing and experimenting with tunes that typified late nineteenth century hymnology. Actually, for years while accompanying congregational singing at my church, I had been trying to minimize the characteristic of how many of them sounded quite like carnival tunes, but now on the honkytonk piano I am taking it to the other extreme by exagerating that precise sound. I have done this by speeding up the tempo, adding new chords, changing the time signature, and by adding arpeggios, syncopated rhythms, and trills.

Goal 2: Now I am excited to announce that soon I will be releasing my new album called "HonkyTonk Hymns". It contains thirty-two classic melodies including two medleys of three songs each (so actually there are thirty-six songs in total). It will also include the entire sixteen song album "The Struggle".  You can enjoy all fifty-two songs for $15.00 plus $5.00 for shipping and handling if mailed (only in the continental USA).

"HonkyTonk Hymns" will also be available on all the streaming services around the world on July 16, 2021.

Goal 3: I have been learning how to cut and weld metal bed frames on to a 1950s era boat trailer to dedicate it to only being used to haul and store the Triano. 

Goal 4: A couple of weeks ago my transmission quit working so that is now another obsticle for me to overcome. It quit working on my way to my church. The only gear that continued to work was reverse. So I had to drive backwards all fifteen miles to return home.


Here is a list of the thirty-six songs as they appear on the album:

1. Medley (Are You Washed in the Blood, There's Within My Heart A Melody, When We All Get To Heaven)

2. This Train

3. At The Cross

4. The Lily of the Valley

5. Bless That Wonderful Name of Jesus

6. Just A Closer Walk With Thee

7. Glory, Glory, Hallelujah

8. Faith Is the Victory

9. I Know Whom I Have Believed

10. Medley (Amazing Grace, Swing Low Sweet Chariot, When the Saints Go Marching In)

11. Down At the Cross

12. I Love To Tell the Story

13. Leaning On the Everlasting Arms

14. My Jesus I Love Thee

15. Oh How I Love Jesus

16. Praise Him! Praise Him!

17. Sweet By and By

18. To God Be the Glory

19. Only Trust Him

20. Oh Happy Day

21. When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder

22. Wonderful Words of Life

23. There Is Sunshine In My Soul

24. We Have Heard the Joyful Sound

25. 'Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus

26. What A Friend We Have In Jesus

27. Love Lifted Me

28. Mine Eyes Have Seen The Glory of the Coming of the Lord

29. Holy, Holy, Holy

30. A Wonderful Savior

31. Near the Cross

32. All To Jesus I Surrender

All the original melodies are public domain, but my renditions of them are not.